Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon!

Opening Meme:

  1. What fine part of the world are you reading from today? Ontario, Canada
  2. Which book in your stack are you most looking forward to? The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
  3. Which snack are you most looking forward to? Popcorn!
  4. Tell us a little something about yourself! I’m a grad student almost finished with my MA in International Affairs which means that reading for pleasure has mostly been pushed aside for the last few years… I’m hoping today will be a nice break from focusing on reading academic texts and bring me back to my favourite childhood memories of being totally absorbed in a book for hours!
  5. If you participated in the last read-a-thon, what’s one thing you’ll do different today? If this is your first read-a-thon, what are you most looking forward to? This is my first Readathon, and I’m most excited about doing a buddy read of The Hound of the Baskervilles with my best friend and having Skype check-ins with her to discuss our progress!

End of Event Meme:

  1. Which hour was most daunting for you? I ended up falling asleep between hours 20-22 so I guess those were the most daunting.
  2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year? Highly recommend Peter May’s Lewis Trilogy as they are very fast-paced mystery novels that are almost impossible to put down!
  3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next season? N/A
  4. What do you think worked really well in this year’s Read-a-thon? Really impressed by how smoothly all the website updates etc. went on an hourly basis… well organized!
  5. How many books did you read? I ended up reading 6 books cover-to-cover totalling 1281 pages.
  6. What were the names of the books you read? “How to Understand Israel in 60 Days or Less” by Sarah Glidden, “The Hound of the Baskervilles” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, “Persepolis: The Story of a Childhood” by Marjane Satrapi, “The Chessmen” by Peter May, and “Prelude to Bruise by Saeed Jones.
  7. Which book did you enjoy most? “The Hound of the Baskervilles” by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle because it was a buddy read with my best friend!
  8. Which did you enjoy least? I actually really liked all the books I read, but I guess the one I enjoyed the least was “How to Understand Israel in 60 Days or Less” by Sarah Glidden.
  9. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time? I definitely would love to participate in the readathon again as a reader, but I would like to be more involved in the social media side of things as well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

